Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Painshill Park

Yesterday was the hottest day of the year so far, and today was even hotter - it got to 33C here today, and thankfully tomorrow we are expecting slightly cooler weather as it is impossible to sleep at night. Walking back up the hill after my dog walk in the heat was not easy!

After my walk, Luke, Meriel and I went to the local coffee shop for some cold smoothies, they were delicious - I had the 'Green Reviver' made of kale, banana, mango and lemongrass, and it certainly helped to revive me!

After lunch I had booked to visit Painshill Park, the 18th century landscape gardens in Cobham, and as they are local to me I visit quite often. There was no queue and I walked right in, and it wasn’t at all busy.  I knew it would be hot today but I hoped to get some photos of baby water birds - I did see ducklings, baby coots and goslings, but in the end I liked this view over the lake. In extras I have the baby coots...'wait for me, mama!' and the goose family. I did not stay long as it was too hot and when I got home and made myself an iced coffee - a double espresso over a tumbler filled with ice and topped up with coconut milk, it was very refreshing. 

Poor Gavin has one of the busiest weeks of the year, as it is financial results time, and he is having long meetings all day - then at night he is trying to write the obituary and eulogy for his mum's funeral on Saturday. It will be at 1pm on Saturday and the church have arranged a zoom facility where can can deliver the eulogy himself rather than his cousin reading it out for him as was the original plan. I have been asked to send a selection of photos for a slide show so I am working on that at the moment, and having to reduce the file size as 45MP images do not easily transfer whatever the format used.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.