Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Threesome

On Wednesday evening I got a text from one of my Ramblers friends to say that she and another Ramblers friend were meeting up today to walk to Bonnybridge along the Canal and did I want to join them. Hadn't seen them for three months (they live in Cumbernauld), so that was an easy decision to make.

So today I met them in Bonnybridge. We walked over to the War Memorial Park and sat at a safe distance while catching up with one another's news and enjoying coffee and scones we had bought from a local cafe that was serving takeaways. It was wonderful to see them.

Apart from my next-door neighbours and my cousin who has dropped off some groceries from time to time (I saw her this afternoon too) I haven't had a 'proper' face-to-face conversation with any of my other family or friends since the start of lockdown. Have enjoyed my weekly Facetime and Zoom chats, plus the emails, phone calls, WhatsApps, etc. but this was quite a different sensation.

Our coffee and scones finished, we walked back through the nature reserve and onto the Canal - still keeping our distance - until they reached their cars at Underwood. I continued onto Banknock, popped into Scotmid for some bread, and home from there. A short time later my cousin dropped by with some other groceries I had asked her to buy when they were at Tesco and we had a brief chat too.

It is good to think that I might be able to meet up with more friends in 'real life' before too long. Been a scorcher of a day today too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.