Come Dine With Me

Our very good friends in Cambridge recently did ‘Come dine with me’ as a family, with each taking on a 2 course meal, with a theme and entertainment. They even recorded their scores in secret, and I was privy to one persons scoring. It was hilarious and fun, and made me want to do it too. Then a few weeks passed, with Mollie cooking amazing meals every night, but the rest of us not feeling there was time, although we did like the idea.

Anyway, last weekend I said I would kick it off today as it is my day off. I chose India as my theme, made some menus, (which I only handed out today) bought the relevant ingredients when I did the shopping this morning, and then spent the rest of today in the kitchen! It has been exhausting. Mollie has helped with washing up, but our kitchen really is only big enough for one person at a time.

Luckily the weather was still nice ( about the temperature of India I think) so we sat outside. I made everything from scratch, and was even able to buy ghee so it was authentic. We had meat samosas for starter with mint, coriander and onion raita and a tomato and onion pickle. (Shop bought popadoms and mango chutney they allowed!!) the main was Hot southern curried chicken, with sag poneer (spinach picked from the garden) and vegetable chapatis.

I entertained them by dashing out after the meal and re-emerging in a sari, which no one seemed to know I had! I did have to watch a YouTube video in order to put it on correctly. My apologies for the flesh showing, but that is how it’s done. Mollie took the photos today.

Lots of positive feedback, but obviously I don’t know what they are going to score me. It has been a bit of fun, and whose turn is next, I don’t know. I suspect it will drag out over several weeks!

Before I fall asleep, I am heading up to the allotment to do some watering. Quite hopeful for some promised showers tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.