Elderflowers and lemons . . . . . .

Well, yes. I thought it was supposed to be wet today, but it didn't happen. Dull, maybe, but dry. As now tomorrow is supposed to be wet I went along to the Walled Garden at Glencruitten to plant out my peas. Being a bit late I'd sown them in pots and got the fencing support ready while they were germinating. So today I planted out 45 pots of peas, 'Rondo', three to a pot - It's going to be thick enough to make a hedge! Slugs permitting we're not going to be short of peas this summer!

On the way back I looked out for a healthy elder bush to cut some flower heads - Mrs M will be making elderflower cordial just in case the hot weather comes back again. Funny how you see elders everywhere when you don't want them, but the only ones I saw today were inaccessible. I finally spotted a bush right in town beside the Black Lynn - judging by the cuts I wasn't the first to come hunting!

Quote of the Day:


Neil Gaiman, ‘The Ocean at the End of the Lane’ - “Peas baffled me. I could not understand why grown-ups would take things that tasted so good raw, and then put them in tins, and make them revolting.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.