a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Lacquered but knackered

Derelict Sunday: Lacquered box

This lacquered box must once have been a lovely thing.  Even now, in its damaged and abused state it calls to me. 

I do vaguely remember this from my childhood.  We inherited it following Grandad's death in 1972, already in poor condition.  It clearly had sentimental value to my father, as he chose to keep it.  Certainly its a pretty thing.  Mum used it to store small sewing oddments, and I am afraid, it probably became more damaged as time went on as a result.

I have no other details of its provenance.  I imagine that my grandfather and grandmother may have acquired it in the 1920s when they married and settled down together.  

Sadly, I suspect that it is probably now far beyond any cost effective restoration. So it meets the dereliction challenge criteria of Marileske's derelict Sunday Challenge - but I sort of wish that it didn't .  :-/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.