Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Uh oh...

I was going to grill some fish last night and when I uncovered and opened the grill ... I was greeted by a squeak and a scurry of feet. Uh oh. I opted to pan sear the fish, needless to say. And today I went out to try to determine a course of action. There was a fair amount of squeaking (the mouse mice) and shrieking (me). It wasn't until halfway through the operation that I realized there were two mice, not one, in the nest.

It has taken me most of the day to get the grate and "flavor bars" off the grill ... and not because my neck hurts. Nope. The real challenge is that every time I picked up a grate or something, the mice would squeak and run around inside the grill. Jaysus! At one point, I think I almost fainted! And I know I screamed a few times. How embarrassing.

Anywho... I took all the grates and other stuff out of the grill so that it is completely uncovered and the nest is exposed. I set up a humane trap near the nest and I am hopeful that one/both of the little mice will venture in. The plan is then to take them into the woods and release them. Somehow, I feel certain that this won't be as simple as I've outlined it here.

Hubs, meanwhile, is very displeased. He's not a fan of the mice ... or any rodents, for that matter. He was overheard mumbling a while ago that we'd need to replace the grill now. I suggested that heating it to 500 F and letting it sit for 10-15 minutes would be sufficient to kill any cooties. But first ... need to relocate the mice. Uh oh.

So, how could I possible not blip a mouse today? Kind of cute, isn't it? Those big eyes, that twitchy little nose, those big ol' ears...

This is either a Deer Mouse or a White-footed mouse - I'm leaning towards white-footed, but not certain enough to put a stake in the ground.

Carpeting job is going well and they should be finished tomorrow - yay!

Happy Monday, Blippers...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.