Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

My little show-off

Mike and I sat inside in the nice, warm house this morning and snapped shots of the blue jays as they zoomed in for peanuts and showed off their best moves. This one, as you can see, was sticking his tongue out WHILE jugging his peanut - talented little guy!

It was 2 degrees Fahrenheit this morning - a bit beyond "brisk" so being inside felt very good! Sadly, I had to say goodbye to Kathleen and Mike a little later in the morning as they began their long trip back to Seattle. It was such fun having them here for the last few days and the house does seem a bit empty with them gone.

I got caught up on things today, or at least tried to. We are bracing for yet another snow storm tonight - this one promising another 3-5 inches of snow on top of the 8 inches we already have. Was it only two months ago that I was wishing for snow???

My father-in-law was moved yesterday from the hospital to a nursing/rehab home where he will be living for an indefinite time. It is a very nice facility and we are confident that they will take excellent care of him and work with him to regain some strength. This is all putting an enormous strain on my BIL and SIL who are on the front lines of dealing with the care of both parents. I'm trying to do what I can, but my ability to help from 1,000 miles away is limited - leaving me feeling frustrated that I can't do more.

I predict another snowy pic tomorrow - and I can't help if wonder if you're all getting as tired of the white stuff as I am? Well, in case you aren't, I posted two photos from today on Flickr, starting HERE -one shot of a pair of sparrows having a "discussion" and the other a simple snow-scape.

Dinner tonight is a Thai butternut squash soup - comfort food for a winter night.

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.