Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Large White #10

A much better day. The rain stayed away and the wind has subsided even if it’s a bit cooler than we deserve! 
Once again Mum Was happy to receive her shopping in return for 5 gazanias, which meant that we spent the afternoon in the garden. 
It never fails to amaze me how quickly everything grows in the summer with a bit of rain, especially the weeds.   I thinned out the cosmos that I planted a little while ago, planted the gazanias and 7 miscellaneous plants that I’ve grown from seed this spring, weeded some beds and tied up the sunflowers to higher stakes as they are now quite tall. They are now growing their flowers, so it’s quite exciting for us - we’re like kids, watching them grow and measuring them against the fence! 

I was going to chop down the hardy geraniums as they are past their best, but still have quite a few flowers as you can see from my blip. However, today is the first day all summer I have seen a couple of butterflies land on them, so they can stay until the green bin is empty again at least! I think that this is a large white, but am happy to be corrected - it could also be a small white, but there was quite a lot of black along the wing tips. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.