HClaireB

By HClaireB

Love birds

I spent most of the day getting ready for a short LightRoom demo to my photographic society next week - I had to make sure I was up to speed...

So my blip was taken wandering round the house looking for inspiration.  This was the first Shona sculpture we bought (we have several, you'll probably see them all eventually).  We bought it in the Victoria Falls Hotel about 30 years ago, when it was trendy in an old-fashioned way but still a bit exotic.  Sadly I haven't been for over 10 years ago, as the British became less welcome.

The sculpture style was named after a group of similar tribes in Zimbabwe called the "Shona".  This sculpture is probably a form of soapstone which is easy to carve and polish but has lovely rich colours.

We first saw this sculpture from the other side, which is a wonderful abstract shape.  It was only after it had been shipped home that we discovered these beautiful love birds on the reverse.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.