Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Dad On Breakfast Duty

The first time this season I've seen the juvenile great spotted woodpecker being fed. I knew dad was on the peanut feeder so I crept up, when his back was turned, to get some shots of him. They're so flighty and are off as soon as they see you.

To my utter delight the juvenile landed nearby and the male made several trips back and forward to bring food. I couldn't believe my luck!

At this stage the male and female juveniles look alike, both having a red cap. Later on the cap is moulted and the males gain the red patch on the back of their heads. The adult females have no red on their head. 

Well 100 days ago tonight we were told were told the UK was going into lockdown, tomorrow would be so different! It was. I still feel I am locked down. I think many of us will feel like this for the rest of the summer and beyond.


Lockdown Day 99 Good thing today: Getting a bird feeding shot!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.