Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Hello, my beauty

This is the first Monarch I've seen in my garden this summer, although I did find a very large monarch caterpillar several weeks ago which means there was an early female at some point.  This faded beauty fluttered by when I was out photographing some bumble bees on the milkweed blossoms.  I didn't find any eggs, but will look more tomorrow.  It's possible she left her eggs else where and just stopped in my garden for some nourishment.

It's been kind of an off day for me.  I slept late and still woke up tired.  And, to be totally honest, I'm feeling both sad and angry right now.  I talked to my parents last night and we mutually agreed that trying to be together before there is a vaccine is probably too dangerous.  I'd had a thought of trying to fly out there in the fall...but in talking with them, I realized that it was a very ill-conceived idea.  So, of course, I am sad that I won't see them for who knows how long. And I am angry at all the people who seem to have such a blatant disregard for how their actions affect other people, people like me and my parents.  Is it so stinking difficult to wear a damned mask, to keep socially distant from people, to take precautions?  There have been over a half MILLION deaths as a result of this virus, a number that is probably understated significantly.  I get that people are tired of living their lives with "rules" - I'm tired of it too.  But I am not so tired that I fail to understand that my actions can impact other people.  So, yes, I'm angry.  And I am also sad for all the people like me who aren't going to be able to spend time with their loved ones right now, or anytime soon.  

And that is enough ranting for a day.  Sorry if I've offended anyone, but my feeling on social distancing and masks is that both are necessary.  

So my message today...as always, be safe, be kind, be loving.  And please don't be selfish.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.