Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Young 'un

For the last few days, I've been seeing a juvenile Blue Jay hanging around.  He/she appears to be independent and able to feed; but flutters and begs when an adult gets close.  He is rightfully skittish and keeps his distance when I'm outside, so this image is fairly heavily cropped.  A front view in Extra.  You can tell he's a juvenile because you can still see some of his gape at the corners of his beak; and the markings around his face are subtly different.  

Hubs and I took a nice long walk on a wooded trail this morning - it was good to be out and moving and a brisk pace.  We passed a few bikers, joggers and walkers, some masked and all socially distant.  We  mask up as soon as we see someone approaching.  A good start to the day.  I frittered away the rest of the day doing this and that, mostly outside.  

Governor Cuomo gave a press briefing so I watched that.  Both New York and New Jersey are pausing the reopening of indoor dining in restaurants, which was due to start within the next 7 days.  After tracking what has been happening in other states, both governors decided that we need more time and a better plan.  I'm okay with that.  Not that I was going to rush out to sit in a restaurant anytime soon - one of these days Hubs and I will venture out for outdoor dining which will be sufficiently adventurous for us.

Mostly stayed away from the news today other than a quick look this morning.  It's not very good.

Be safe, be kind, be loving...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.