Wearing a Hair Shirt

I met Christian Lewis on the ferry from Stromness to Hoy last year. He is an ex paratrooper who, suffering depression after leaving the forces, is walking the coastline of the UK with his dog Jet. Besides sorting out his mental health he is raising money for SSAFA., the armed forces charity. He has been on the road for almost 3 years now and after starting his journey from Swansea has walked up the west coast include the islands and is currently about to leave Shetland for the east coast of Scotland. He acquired Jet along the way and they have both spent lockdown on Hildasay, an uninhabited island off the coast of Shetland.
He has a FaceTime page - Chris walks the UK

My plans for today fell at the first hurdle when it started seriously raining at 7am. The exciting trip to M&S for vegetables was shelved and instead I defrosted the freezer. I will not divulge the date of the last defrosting, suffice it say I was a year younger. It’s a job I loathe, but today it was a form of punishment for having stood on the scales earlier and been horrified at the reading. Serves me right for all the bowl licking over the past 6 weeks, but enough’s enough .
I’m wondering at this moment whether my ongoing punishment should be venturing out for a walk in the dreariness of a wet afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.