By Post

Such praise from a Granddaughter is praise indeed, even though I detect there is a undercurrent of ‘could do better’ in the phrase ‘quite good’ as applied to my writing. I certainly can’t fault hers and it was such a delight to have her letter drop onto the Dower House floor at lunch time today. Even more so to have a blip to hand when I’m finding it hard to put myself out onto the increasingly busy streets.
Most of my time outside the house is done before breakfast although at the beginning of lockdown when the streets were empty of everyone and everything, I was happy to walk about in the knowledge I would not pass more than a handful of people.

I have never in my whole life spent to much time on my own and I fear I am becoming too unsociable for my own good. I am all ‘Zoomed’ out after two Zoom calls in the last 12 hours whereas some of my friends have a multitude of these calls every day. I find them incredibly stressful and trying to have a meaningful conversation as one would in meeting in the flesh is well nigh impossible. The trouble is I don’t see and end to this enforced separation from people coming any time soon.

Now I’m off to start writing a letter to Nina in my best handwriting. If I try hard, I might get a gold star.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.