Valediction

This is my view from one of the windows in the bedroom at 2am in the morning during a brief moment of wakefulness. The Hamnavoe ferry is well lit up at its berth in the harbour with Copland’s Dock opposite competing with the lighting.

This is my last day in Orkney; the Northlink ferry from Kirkwall will spirit me overnight to Aberdeen. I’ve completed my packing and done all the things that mean such a lot to me. I’ve cycled the Marches, had my coffee, spent time in the library and walked round the Ness to Warbeth beach , meeting for the first time Happy Valley with the horses in their field near the graveyard.

All I have to do now is finish off the red wine and crackers and watch the tennis.

It’s been a wonderful month here, albeit on my own but with input from my fellow blippers, IainatCreel, the current Mrs Creel, Poppy, Northern, EllyJay, Happy Valley and other non blipper friends.

I got goosebumps the other morning when rounding a bend in the road on my bike I was confronted by my extra sitting outside a garden wall as if waiting for me with a stick- a look alike HL with a tan!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.