Au Revoir

My Orkney idyll is over for another year. MV Hrossey sailed on the dot at 23:45 last night while I relaxed in comfort in a cabin meant for two but occupied only by me. The crossing was flat calm and I had the luxury of actually sleeping.

My landlord helped me with my luggage to the port in Kirkwall and daughter #2 met me at the port in Aberdeen at 7:30 this morning.There is no way I could have struggled with my case and the bike case on my own if I hadn’t been helped.

By 9:30 we were in Perth having bacon rolls in Starbucks and by 11:00 I was deposited home and trying to take up the life I had so quickly forgotten after 4 weeks living a totally different one.

Although I have only been out as far as the corner shop to get food shopping I have already noticed the higher temperature and the lack of wind.
I am going to find it hard to readjust to life in the centre of a city again, however beautiful and historic it is. As to the potholes on the roads…….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.