VENUS AND CUPID

Day 109 of my lockdown - Day 21 of slight ease

This is the statue of Venus and Cupid along Morecambe prom.  Most people take it from the back view of Venus because it shows the tail of a whale, so I thought I'd be a bit different.  A lot of people don't like it, but I don't mind it - it's a little different.  It also sits in a curved area up the far end of the Prom so is in a decent position.

A very busy day for me today, but a good one - despite the weather.

Started off by going to Mum's and having a chat.  Now the first thing she greeted me with was "Have you sent me a parcel, as I've received a mysterious package" - she was just a bit panicky.  "No" Mum I said.  Then I walked into the lounge and there was a large flat pack from HobbyCraft!!!  Yikes it was me.  I'd ordered some white foam boards and black foam boards to aid with photography - 'cos the real photographic ones are expensive.  Now somehow, about 5 years ago when we lived with Mum for 4 weeks in between moving from Somerset and settling in Grange, I must have ordered something from Hobbycraft (which I don't remember) and somehow they still had that as my delivery address!!!!!  I'd had a not to say it wouldn't be here until mid July.  Well it was delivered by Hermes saying "Next Day Delivery" when I hadn't paid for that at all!!!  I think I must have been in lockdown too long as I'm obviously going gaga!!!  

I need to inspect the boards now as I do not like Hermesa as a courier at all. Ah well at least I've got them and the white ones are huge, so where do I store them.

After all that excitement, coffee, biscuit and chat and started off for home about midday as we were expecting a Tesco delivery.  I went via Morecambe Prom and managed to take this photo from my car BECAUSE when I got the camera out I had forgotten to change the lens over from my macro one - so this technically is a macro shot eeeeeekkkk"  There really is no hope for me hee hee!!!!!

So I had to ditch the idea of going for a drive and looking for white things to photograph for the Colour White project I have to complete within the next 10 days!!!  I have nothing white at home, well very little and nothing just white - so it's a huge challenge.  Not only is white one of the most difficult colours to photograph well but there isn't an awful lot of just white around. Some thinking outside the box is needed methinks and a drive round (with the correct lens) to get inspired.

At 1:50 the people who installed our new gas fire  last year turned up to look at it for us because we'd had a smell of gas coming from it.  Just something got a bit loose when settling down apparently.  It felt quite nerve wracking because they are the first people we have had inside the house, not counting my Mum since before lockdown.  They didn't have masks but would have used them if we insisted.  However they did use hand sanitisers before coming to the front door and they used antibacterial wipes to clean up after them, including cleaning the front door handles - so that was fair enough.  Still cleaned around the fire afterwards as well, just to be sure - but none of their staff had had any symptoms at all, nor anybody they knew.

Now it's sitting back for an hour before I do my Mindfulness session with C for 40 minutes and wait for someone to arrive to give us a quote for new guttering (they don't have to come into the house).  Then at 6.30 to take Hubby down to his mate's house so they can have their weekly social distanced beer in the garden (with a fire and a shelter) and picking him again at 8.30.  I really need that mindfulness session.

Oh for a fairly quiet day tomorrow - maybe!!!!

Please do stay safe, take care and I will see you all again tomorrow. Many thanks for all your lovely comments and stars, they are so much appreciated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.