JennyOwen

By JennyOwen

Setting seed

The lavender is changing: buds, flowers and developing seed pods all visible,  side by side.  It rained for most of the morning. Then as that eased off in the afternoon, I went out to do a few garden jobs - pruning the most leggy of the growth from the fig tree, pulling couch grass out of a flower bed. Richard and I are surfacing from 5 days of 'bubble time' with my 3 grandchildren (two of them were staying with us, one making visits - and at age 4, age 10 months and age 11 months, that has meant a string of broken nights, very early mornings and non-stop days). So today was a day to catch up and replenish the tanks. I'm intensely aware of how lucky we've been to be able to spend this time with them, after the long weeks of distance from late March onwards.   Their grandfather - my ex-husband - is now near death; the end of an 8 year struggle with vascular dementia. He and I said our apologies for past bad times, and our farewells, a long time ago. Now, his partner and our son and daughter are focused on keeping him as comfortable as possible at home. He has stopped wanting to eat or drink; I think he is letting go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.