JennyOwen

By JennyOwen

Getting fitted

In my journal so far, one family member hasn't appeared as yet: the lovely Milly, 12 year old mare and my equine companion/personal trainer/meditation assistant of the last 6 years.  She lives on a small farm just outside Sheffield, where I rent stable and field space. In her previous life, she was a trekking pony in Edale, in the Peak District.   When she came into my care, late in 2014, we were as green as each other. 6 years later, we have both learnt a lot and adapted to each other. Today was the day for a saddle fit check, to make sure that when I ride, nothing hurts Milly or gets unbalanced. It turns out that a different girth would probably provide a better fit, and today's session was very helpful on that score (thank you to Emily from Solution Saddles for that).  There will be more to come, about Milly, as we go along.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.