Red House Renovation, day one and a half...

All the work done at home since the winter has involved the garden. However, now the garden is under control I turned my efforts to The Red House. Last summer I replaced the wooden cladding on half the gable end. That end faces south and gets all the weather but even so the planks I took off were still in fairly good condition considering they are 50 years old. The bottom half-meter was fairly rotten but mostly the rest was okay.  I will be finishing the second half of that gable before the summer is out but I started with the east side of the house.  Here we are just replacing the bottom sections of the planks, probably using the wood I took off the gable end last year!
I've now gone further than in this picture, and removed the bottom section of all the wood to the left of the window, and dug out the gravel and soil that had caused the wood to rot. I just managed to get the wind and waterproof membrane into place before the skies opened and it rained, and rained, and then rained some more!
I'm sure the sun will shine another day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.