111th Corona diary entry / The New Normal

I took this when we walked with the dogs after a extremely hot and humid day (the sweat just runs down) and when the wind had died and the mosquitoes were pestering us like crazy. Luckily these swallows were trying to protect us, but as much as they were flying around us (really close) the mosquitoes got some good shots of me.

Forecast shows 40% chance of thunder tomorrow for us. My gosh I wish it hits us good. The weather will not cool, but it would be cooler for just few hours. I'd take that, thank you.

I saw this statistic today.
It's number of tropical nights (24°C or more during the night at minimum) in Valencia in a decade!

agrupadas por décadas:
Década de los 40: 3
Década de los 50: 0
Década de los 60: 5
Década de los 70: 13
Década de los 80: 28
Década de los 90: 59
Década de los 00: 102
Década de los 10: 128

So we can see how much hotter it has gotten here over recent decades.From 3 nights in 10 years in the 40's to 128 nights in the 2010's.

And yes, we have turned to aircon the recent nights. I do have to wake up a lot to shut it down as it gets so cold (after being in 40 during the day) and then I have to wake up to turn it on again. So I'm up with the machine as it doesn't have a remote and even if it did, I could not reach it from my bed as the control panel is situated in another room. So it's easier to sleep with the door open, but with these nights it's not a possibility.

I did manage a good nap late this afternoon. Most likely due to being up so many times to play with the machine that I needed a boost during the day. But I like napping. I really don't mind. But I did wake up to it being too hot to sleep...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.