A whole year

I started smoking when I was about 13 and battled with it for 20 years, in that time I gave up quite a lot but always went back to it, I then stopped completely for 15 years but during a few drinks with neighbours a cigar came out while we were listening to records and I had a puff, a couple of months later while in Russia I tried a hookah pipe and before I knew it I would have a few cigarettes if I went away or if I was on holiday, I found it easy not to smoke in between and not to smoke at home but over the years it crept up until last year at Glastonbury festival I smoked so many cigarettes that I actually felt really ill when I came home, I spent the festival with Gulliver who was shocked to see me smoking so much, after that I decided that the time had come to actually give up and today marks one year since that decision, I’ve actually had a cough since December, literally for six months which has got very bad at times... I expect my lungs are still trying to heal themselves. I’ve always struggled with addictions to various things but today I’m celebrating not having smoked for a whole year! Well done me.

In other news I am singing the Londonbeat song thinking about you tomorrow at my friends virtual wedding in LA, the friend is William Henshall who actually was a member of London beat and corrupt this song, we’ve been friends since I was 25, he is marrying Missy, It’s an exciting looking event, they sent a menu for everyone to cook so that we can all eat the same thing, from that menu we have chosen the upright roast chicken, Mediterranean salad and crème brûlée with a rose wine to wash it down! So tonight was soundcheck which took about an hour, working out the best place to do it in the house and the best way to rig things up electronically.

Max and Zebedee are painting the living room ceiling black down the gym end!

Max and I went to Lidl for our regular Thursday evening shop.

Earlier in the day Max rescued a dragonfly that had become trapped in the wisteria on the roof terrace.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.