Cheese sticks!

A bit of excitement in the middle of the night! I woke up at my usual time - 4:15am - and heard strange noises in the kitchen. The lights were on. I called for G, and he said, "You won't believe what happened!" A loud bang woke him up about 3:45am, scared him, and when he went to investigate, he discovered that a can of Kombucha had exploded! I hadn't heard it. The kids had unpacked their cooler yesterday and all the leftover drink cans were on the counter waiting to be repacked to take home. What a mess! Puddles on the floor and splash marks all over the kitchen cupboards, stove, fridge, ceiling, incredible how far the liquid sprayed. He had cleaned up as much as he could and I decided to leave the rest until it was lighter and we could see better.
G and Marky went golfing, and Kalyn and I cleaned up the rest of the mess and washed the floor. She was a great help reaching the higher places that I'd need to stand on a stool to clean. Then we went to pick up a few groceries, first time I've gone shopping later in the morning. Couldn't believe how busy town was! We walked up to Barb's Buns to see if there were any cheese sticks, a tradition to enjoy when they visit. All social distancing and safety precautions were in place, and we scored some pesto cheese sticks. I think Renata and Krista might be jealous when I send them the photo! 
After lunch and relaxing for a bit at home (G had a nap), we went to Auntie Pesto's for dinner. Couldn't not take them after we'd taken the other two! A group of six older women arrived after us. They were very noisy initially, so jubilant about being out together in a restaurant. The restaurant has done a fine job of making sure that customers are far apart both inside and outside. The food as always was delicious. Home for a couple of games of 3-way crib then an hour of comedy. We were all ready for bed by 10pm. Another most enjoyable day.
Extras:
I wanted a bench shot, so Kalyn posed on this one on the boardwalk. No dangling feet!
The exploded Kombucha can.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.