kombucha!

I mentioned in my blip last Friday that a kind friend had gifted Luke and me a SCOBY. We were both excited to start making kombucha with it. (I've put in the links in case you're not familiar with those terms).

The SCOBY has been sitting in a nice warm place in some sweet black tea for the past week, and it has had a baby! (a new SCOBY has grown on top of the original one). We had a taste of the kombucha and decided that it was ready to drink, so have separated the SCOBYs, put them in new jars of sweet black tea and poured off the liquid (keeping a little of it back for each jar to lower the pH). 

I was surprised how nice the kombucha tasted...slightly fizzy, a bit like a dry cider. Luke put some of his in a Kilner jar with some of our raspberries for a secondary fermentation.

In the photo are (from left to right) Luke's new SCOBY in a new brew, a glass of kombucha, Luke's secondary ferment with raspberries, and my old SCOBY starting another brew behind.

All very exciting!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.