curioser and curioser

Before 2020, who would have thought that you could demonstrate kindness to others by keeping your distance from them?

These signs have appeared up and down Dumfries High Street. It was  our weekly shopping day today and I decided to walk along the High Street just to see what shops were open and how busy the town centre would be. I have particularly missed bookshops and charity shops, but had no plan to actually go into any shops today. I noticed that Waterstones (the only bookshop in Dumfries) was open, and that before browsing, customers have to  use hand sanitiser and then put any books they have touched onto a special trolley and not back on the shelves. It doesn't really encourage browsing at all, sadly.

We had our weekly visit to Lidl and Morrisons. I wore my mask as it is so difficult to keep 2m away from other customers and also I feel it is a kind of courtesy to them and to the staff. It was only once we were home that I read the news that from next Thursday, the wearing of face masks will be compulsory in shops in Scotland. 

I also read that due to a cluster of Covid cases near the border, restrictions have been placed on people living in our postcode (DG2)  until a review on the 6th July. 

Business as usual for now, then.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.