sporty

I needed a hair cut, but it wasn't the right time just now to go all the way to Edinburgh to the lovely hairdresser who cut my locks last time. Nor did I want to go through the faff of making an appointment with a new stylist. I thought to myself how easy it is for men to get their hair done at the barbers' - they just turn up and sit in line..

Every day on my way to work I pass a fine-looking place called Mrs Howat's Vintage Barbers..the windows are full of old and interesting stuff and the men who come out have great haircuts. Since I have short(ish) hair and wet short(er) hair, surely they would consider cutting mine?

I looked online after work and although there were no appointment times, the thing to do was to download an app and join a queue for the barber of your choice (I chose the one with the shortest queue). The app said I'd be in the chair in about  45 minutes. 

I had my hair done by a young woman called Kelsie who admitted that none of the barbers were trained in cutting women's hair but I said I wasn't too fussy, I just wanted shorter hair....and that's what I've got. It was a lot less expensive than a "hairdresser" and the experience was straightforward and enjoyable. All the staff in there seemed really lovely.

My only regret was that I didn't get to sit in the red car :-)

Today's walk: down to the river with Jess 2.09 miles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.