Kalk

As forecast, it has rained all day. It is ironic. Today is the first day without restriction on travel for leisure. No more 5 mile limit. For now…

I would not have been joining the stampede today anyway. I have a wee plan for next weekend, if the weather cooperates. 

The Blip is another internet/mail order purchase, and evidence of the way social media can work. I saw L’Art du Vin on Instagram for for some reason decided they might be selling the kind of wine I like. So when I saw them promoting a 6 pack of various German wines I went for it. It is a local business (Dalgety Bay) and I always like to spend local if I can. 

The wine on the left is from Würzburg in the north of the Franken region (Franconia in English) of Bavaria. Brits associate Bavaria with beer, but I have never had a disappointing Franken wine (there… I have jinxed it). I have a feeling not much goes for export. 

Am Stein

The one on the right is from Malterdingen in Baden-Württemburg - the southwest of the country. It is another area Brits do not identify with wine production, and not many German reds seem to find their way here either.

Malterdingen

Like the French, canny Germans keep the good stuff for themselves. 

One little part of my plan for retirement is just to cycle around southern Germany for a few weeks, eating and drinking as much as I can. An itinerary is starting to come together - flight to Frankfurt (close to Würzburg) and then meander slowly south.   

Perhaps I should get on with it while my legs still have some vavavoom. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.