The patient

Thank you to everyone who has sent good wishes for Mr hazelh's return to full mobility.

The day did not start well. It took poor Mr hazelh over an hour to get out of bed and manoeuvre himself into a position from which he could drink his morning cup of tea. In that time he suffered badly from muscle spasms. At one point he was stranded naked on the bedroom floor unable to move without risking extreme pain. All I could do was fetch a couple of fleece blankets to keep him warm until he could move again!

We were back on the phone to the GP surgery as soon as it opened at 08:00am. The doctor advised even more painkillers, which I collected from the pharmacy just before lunch. I was very nervous about leaving Mr hazelh in the house on his own (what if he fell and brained himself?) so ran the errand as fast as I could.  (I have put off washing my hair for two days because I won't be able to hear him if he calls for me when I am under the shower.)

The patient's muscles loosened up sufficiently this afternoon for him to be able to sit on an upright chair and watch television. This evening he managed to prepare our dinner and play games. This is progress! However, I am preparing for the same difficult start again tomorrow morning after eight hours of little movement in bed.

In between all this back pain drama, I managed to do some work, but I am not a very productive academic while I am playing Nurse hazelh.

My blip is of our hero 'exercising' slowly in the hall this morning.

Exercise today: none (other than 4944 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.