Potato crop

When my mum left, a week ago, she'd dug over one large area of deep-rooted weeds twice, and another area once. She didn't want to leave me to do the second dig but had run out of time and the days had got very hot (remember that?!). It's taken me a week to do the second fork on about a quarter of what she covered in four hours and while I was digging this morning I found evidence that my predecessors used to grow potatoes. They were so tiny that they were easy to miss and the scale I've given here is likely to make sense only to Brits over 60 59 but the thruppenny bit is my favourite coin ever. 

In extras: what I've done today with the patch I have dug over, mainly for my mum to see the next stage of her hard work. It's raining this evening so the lettuces will probably all be gone to slugs by the morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.