RUNNING MAN

As its Silly Saturday it seems appropriate that I had a silly moment this afternoon when I thought the Newcastle match was being played today. I knew the match was on Sky which I don't have so I settled down to listen on  Radio  Newcastle.  Kick off was 2.15pm.  When I switched on I expected to hear the two football commentators discussing the forthcoming match. What I heard was music.  Then more music.  Wondered why the match wasn't on. Went on NUFC website to find the match is actually on tomorrow.  What a silly billy I was.

As I had some free time I messaged Neil to tell him so that he could call for me to go for a walk.  He and Rachael arrived around an hour later.  They had been shopping at the Dalton Park outlet place.  They didn't have a lot of time to spare so we only had a short walk around the block but we had a nice catch up.

I met up with some of my neighbours as we were returning home - they were going out for a bike ride.  Mum, Dad, two little girls and a little boy.  All on their bikes.  The middle girl told me its her 6th birthday tomorrow and she wanted a Sylvanian Families house. Her sister already had a house .... but wouldn't share so her own Sylvanian toys were in a suitcase. I mentioned that I had some old Sylvanian figures from when Becky was little and said I would let her have them.  That was really a silly thing to say ..... as soon as I had said it I realised I actually had no idea where these figures were.  And in among my junk they could take for ever to find.  Hopefully she won't hold me to my promise.  

This evening after tea I decided to have a look for the figures. I knew some of Becky and Neil's old toys were in the " coal house " in the garage so I went to look.  Another silly idea.  I haven't looked in there for many years and everything was covered in a thick layer of coal dust.  Its under the stairs and I guess coal dust is dislodged every time anyone uses the stairs.  All the stuff in there was in plastic bags or boxes so was clean but the bags and boxes were filthy.  I ended up " hacky dirty " ( as my Mam would have said).  I found Barbie dolls, Lego, a game of Mousetrap, hundreds of toy cars, Playmobil, teddies, dolls (including a couple of Cabbage Patch dolls )  ...... but no Sylvanian family toys.  Have to look somewhere else I guess.

For Silly Saturday in memory of admirer and organised by davidc I have blipped something which Becky and Neil gave their Dad one Fathers Day as a joke present.  As he was a keen runner it was very appropriate.

Musical link RUN FOR HOME - by Lindisfarne

Steps today - 8,673 ( 3.38 miles )

CORONA CLASSIC - Danzón Nº 2 by Arturo Márquez

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.