The queue outside the hairdressers

this morning was bonkers. The family of 5 had been there since 8am, can't blame them they all seem blessed with the same kinda of curly hair. I'd love curly hair, they can't wait to get it tamed. The twins ran out of "product" very early on during the Covid19 lockdown, would'nt leave the house apparently. Well they'll have a bit of a wait outside the salon as only 2 customers can enter at one time. The social distancing being observed apart from someone dropping their jacket on the ground. I'm not sure when our hairdresser will be back, I should contact her I suppose, but Mum seems to be happy with me cutting her hair, & I'm getting the hang of cutting my own, although I've no idea what the back looks like. Does it really matter??? I'll have to invest in another mirror before I can find out.
Popped up the allotment this morning thinking I might not have to water, but the little rain we've had had'nt touch the tomato plants so I gave them a feed, did the same with the squash & courgette, then the runner beans. Picked peas, courgettes, sweet peas. Deadheaded the marigold & eschscholzia, saving the seed heads. Grabbed the bag of heuchera to prepare back in the greenhouse. Nipped to the shop, grabbed a few bits for Mum, dropped them down, had a quick coffee & chat, then back to base. Podded the peas for freezing, bagged the blackcurrants, 3 x 1lb. The remainder I made into jelly this afternoon. Left it dripping in the leg hacked off a pair of Mum's old tights.They are perfect for straining fruit. Went and had a faff in the greenhouse, cleaned the onions that have been drying on a shelf in there, moved them into the shed, creating a bit more room. Tied in the sweet pepper plants, tidied a planter, the nasturtiums covered in blackfly so pulled them out leaving the new red salvia, cutting it back made more cuttings so I tucked them back i nthe planter, then added a few pieces of groundcover plant rescued from George & Jeans green waste bin. I think they'll make a good combination. Sorted the greenhouse ready for a few hours cutting, splitting & potting tomorrow morning so I can tune in to Toby Buckland's gardening radio programme.
Back indoors, sterilized some jars, prepared dinner, then boiled up the juice & sugar for the jelly. It's a fab colour. Fingers crossed it sets, I don't have a jam thermometer.

Thanks to davidc for hosting Silly Saturday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.