Clematis 'Princess of Wales'

One of the few plants in the garden when we moved in two years ago, & it's pink. I like pink.
I dropped the garden waste off at the allotment this morning then headed out to George & Jean in Bovey Tracey. They have'nt found the packet of "weed" seed yet.  "Be ruthless, take what you want, take the heuchera, teh Hellebore is all leaf, the Hakonechloa is got far too big for the space, take the seed" ..
"Yes okay, Jean"
George wanted me to trim back some of the leaf on his grape vine. He followed me around to my different work places in the garden so that we could natter as I worked. He is very amusing. Starts quoting old song lyrics totally out of the blue .. something about honeysuckle rose this morning. This is it .....................

Honeysuckle Rose - Fats Waller

Every honey bee fills with jealousy
When they see you out with me
Goodness knows
You're my honeysuckle rose
When you're passin' by flowers droop and sigh
And I know the reason why
Goodness knows
You're my honeysuckle rose
Don't buy sugar
You just have to touch my cup
You're my sugar
It's sweeter when you stir it up
When I'm taking sips from your tasty lips
Seems the honey fairly drips
Goodness knows
You're my honeysuckle rose
Goodness knows
You're my honeysuckle rose…



4 hours later, all jobs done. Jean gave me a book 'The Gardener's Wise Words and Country Ways', she'd picked up in a charity shop some time ago and thought I might like it. Very kind of her. I headed into Bovey Tracey, where I happened to see an old regular of The Anchor when Mum & Dad were the tenants. He was sat in his daughters car. Harold did'nt recognise me. He rings Mum probably 4 evenings a week for a little chat. Always talks about the same events, memories of overseas pub outings, sometimes 6 of them, another 8, even more on a couple of occasions. Once he knew it was me he was happy to chat away. He lost his wife a few years ago, so his daughter keeps an eye on him now, taking him out in the car two or three days a week for a ride around. "It's made my day seeing you" he said. Well I'm glad I made somebody's day.
My car was packed with pieces of plant, so I dropped them all off at the allotment, picked a punnet of peas, 4 more courgettes, a bunch of sweet peas, then home for lunch.
The wind was blowing a hooley again so rescued a few pots that had toppled over.

Thanks to BikerBear/Anni for hosting Flower Friday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.