Plus ça change...

By SooB

Bunch 'a' flowers

Photoshop has been very much on my mind today. I'm going to start using Mr B's 'big' computer more, since he got himself a nifty little notepad computer. So I've been debating what to do about Photoshop: whether to move it from my laptop to his machine and not have it on the laptop at all (which frankly is barely powerful enough for the hateful Vista, never mind troubling it with any other software). But then it's handy to have it on the laptop for when we're out and about, including the month we're away every summer.

So do I fork out £113 for PSE on Mr B's computer? Or should I try GIMP instead? But won't that muck up organising the photos through PSE? But then that drives me mad anyway so just use Windows for that? Too many choices. It's enough to drive you back to film....

Anyway, I thought while I'm deciding I'd better make more use of PSE than my usual dabbling (correct the white balance, and muck about with contrast and levels if I'm feeling really dutiful). Here's a stab at making a photo look like a painting. I have to admit I've never much seen the point of this: after all if you want a painting, get out the paints, but then I have no artistic ability in that direction.

I was thinking about my Gran today, who was an artist and liked painting flowers. I have one of her bluebell wood pictures, which would probably have made a much better blip! She'd have done a better job with these flowers than this, of course. Anyway, this is for Gran. Sorry about the rubbish dark red that's come out nearly black, and I know you don't much like gerberas but they were the only (fake) flowers in the house.


The title, by the way, is intended to invoke hilarity among Eddie Izzard fans.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.