pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Bridge the gap

My growing sense of unease came to a head today with a particularly difficult afternoon at work.

Slinging my camera over my shoulder a shade past 5pm, I set off down river in a rush to ensure that I wasn’t late in my desire to be nowhere. 

I pushed the boundaries and having taken this shot, even ventured the other side of Hawes Bridge. I didn’t hang around as it started to rain, which as most blippers will attest to, doesn’t mix well with digital photography.

Nature has been something of a distracting salvation these past few weeks with the children’s enthusiasm for it infecting me. 

It’s hard to put your finger on it, but it may have something to do with the absence of people, the natural flow of the river, the swooping, gliding and sharp banking of the swallows and swifts, the roar of the weir by Scroggs Wood and tonight, the sighting of an otter playing in the middle of the river without a care in the world. They're all pretty great....

My new-found obsession with Hamilton continues apace with the following lyrics from ‘Wait for It’ taking root in my brain:

Love doesn't discriminate
Between the sinners
And the saints
It takes and it takes and it takes
And we keep loving anyway.

Thank you, Lin-Manuel Miranda, you unbelievably talented man. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.