Another year begins

At the start of the morning's work I received a phone call from the anaesthetic team deferring the planned surgery for a couple of weeks at least. I'm not surprised, and actually relieved that they want me free of infections before surgery. 

The daily meeting in the Unit on managing the in and out of patients was unpressured today as there were already a number of vacant beds, and more discharges likely today and tomorrow.

My new registrar and I had just one new admission to see, and one Mental Health Act review to do, so I was easily able to complete the urgent jobs this morning and leave the rest to my registrar and the other consultants, and come home for lunch and the afternoon.

To mark yet another birthday, lunch with the grandsons and daughters was organised. A lovely time. I was given a collaborative present; a Kindle in a case. I have been using the kindle app on my iPad, which is much heavier and more cumbersome. It will mean carrying two "books", as all my journals and such like are on the iPad.

The extra is of Young L and Mr H with me. The slope has me temporarily in the middle as the youngest is growing taller every day it seems.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.