MARSH ORCHID

I think it's the Southern Marsh Orchid, after carefully checking photos online. You'd think it would be Northern, but apparently they're much smaller and stubbier, and this was a whopper. There were lots about, as well as Pyramidal and Common Spotted Orchids. Extra is a Burnet Moth beginning to emerge.

Both of us felt under the weather this morning, so much so that B phoned to postpone his hospital appointment tomorrow. We both felt that "oh bugger, is that a cold coming on?" feeling, but also knowing that neither of us had slept well (which always makes me feel rubbish the next day). I'd also taken my temperature in a fit of middle-of-the-night hypochondria, and it was down at the bottom end of the normal scale so nothing to worry about there. I nipped out for fresh air while B had a birthday nap, and then I slept for a couple of hours this afternoon and both of us feel fine now. We've had a lot more hay fever symptoms this year, and indeed the anti-histamines helped today too, as will the sausages I'm about to go and cook as per the birthday request.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.