Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Laundered

I found these seven one dirham coins in the washing machine today when I went to put the coloured load on. I guess G could accuse me of money laundering! You might think they should come out shiny but they look dull. Unfortunately, I forgot to take my camera with me when I went out in the evening so this image with have to suffice.

I struggled to wake this morning. I'm so glad it's the weekend. The biggest thing to do on Thursdays now is getting the Fun Club email out. G had spent hours yesterday to get ahead. I had my bit to add. We got everything to my nephew before 10 am. I'm not sure what happened next, but he didn't do his bit until nearly 6 pm and so the email eventually went out around 8 pm. Exactly what we didn't want again, but better than nothing, I guess.

There seem to be loads of small jobs to do, so it was good to get them out of the way. We got to T@3 on Zoom, but today, it wasn't just virtual attendees, they were actually in the URC church building in Wonersh with one or two people actually there!

I'd invited our Salvation Army Captain's for a meal tonight. They are re-locating to Abu Dhabi imminently so I thought it would be a nice personal farewell from us. It was also to thank them for letting me park my Volvo in their drive for nearly two months! We took them to our favourite restaurant and I am so relieved to say that they absolutely loved the food! Their two daughters were delightful when they finally felt relaxed and chatted loads about all sorts of things including the life they've already planned out. They are 8 and 9 years old!

And I should record a phone call we had first thing in the morning from our friend Susan who is also one of our AWANA helpers. She has been so busy with work, we've hardly heard from her during the lockdown, let alone meeting up. Today when she phoned, I hadn't heard her for so long, I had to ask her, "Susan, who" when she identified herself. ;))) We had a good laugh about it! A proper, physical, catch-up meeting has now been arranged! :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.