Its the Way It Is

By Jeano

Flowers

I had an early swim on a lovely morning. Into work by 8am for meeting. Only took a short lunch break so I could leave early to prepare for sd (socially distant) afternoon tea for my mammy (96) and her 2 best friends and neighbours who she hasn’t seen since mid-March. People over 70 were urged to stay indoors (cocooning) when Ireland locked down then. So today I invited them into my back garden and their daughters drove them here and collected them afterwards. So in the company of a 96 year and 2 x 89 year olds, we had a very enjoyable afternoon. I used my blue bone china and my Irish linen table cloth; served dainty sandwiches; selection of cheeses (Jean what is that dreadful cheese with the blue lines running through it?); cocktail sausages; scones with jam n cream; my signature rocky road brownies and washed down with Barrys Tea (superior blend). It was such a fun afternoon and luckily it was outdoors as one of the ladies smokes like a chimney. I laughed my head off at the craic.

And they brought lovely gifts for my mam and me. My blip is of a brooch given to me by one of them because she knows I adore jewellery. Isn’t it lovely? So for Flower Friday I snapped it at the hydrangea bush.

It’s been a really great afternoon - 4 happy women had the craic. I am a bit exhausted now.

Older ladies are great gas.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.