Its the Way It Is

By Jeano

Art

all day today

I gave grand daughter and 2 pals some art homework to do. The brief was to paint or photograph an image replicating (loosely) a famous work of art. The main colour was to be green but to include one of the primary colours which make green (blue and yellow). They had to show their own work, also the painting they were replicating and a few short words about the artist and why they picked his/her work.

My image shows a green bowl containing limes on a green/yellow background (actually an Ikea pillowcase).

I was giving the nod to Picasso’s Bread and Fruit on Table (1909)

https://www.pablopicasso.org/bread-and-fruit-dish-on-a-table.jsp


I gave a short summary of Picasso’s interesting life and told the girls that I picked the painting as I like the strong lines and the green gives the sense of fresh food in relaxed surroundings.

I spent about 3 hours in the sitting room after lunch watching a documentary on Irish lighthouses and delving into my weighty art books and slurping spaghetti as the sun streamed in the window.

Saturdays are for relaxing and doing what you enjoy

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.