Red Japanesse Maple...

Two days ago I looked into this Maple  for branches that had excessively long internodes on it's branches.  Where it was appropriate,  I cut the branches back.  Better to do it now, and correctly growth of  the branch then fight the error and only end up cutting it off, anyway.   Where I could leave a branch that had thicken but not stretched way out, I left it.  This is one of 3 Maples I have.  The process is the same for each.  You can also see where I made some deep cuts (white/creamy ends)
      When I sent the trees last January to the nursery (while I was sick) the fast growth occurred and I was unable to contain the huge growth.   This summer, I am trying to  catch up and get the shape back.  I will keep the trees close to my door now, rather than in the bonsai garden, where I can look everyday and keep a close eye on the new growth.
      You also see the red leaves,  hence the name of this tree.  I don't know why they have changed color, it's the wrong time of the year.   You will also notice that some of the red leaves look wilty.  Yesterday I nicked the cambium of the of the new, green branches.  I don't know if the leaves will make it, but it's ok, because there are more internodes there to grow a branch.   I love the red color.  It's even more vibrant in the fall!
       This tree is approximately 4-5 years old.  It was a gift 2 years ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.