Ficus Benjaminum, an evergreen

Todays Blip an evergreen, a shrub that is commonly found around homes, borders, or property lines.  it can 3 cm, as my small one is,    or 6 -10 feet tall as in a border.  It grows very thick and woven amongst other trees and nearly impenetrable, depending on how thick they have grown.

The Ficus on the right is 3 to 4 cm tall.  I have had it 2 years, this month.  I won it at a Bonsai Club raffle.  What a treasure I got!  It has been potted because so it doesn't grow upward.  Today I trimmed it it up from last years growth and gave it some fertilizer.
      The Ficus on the left is 4 yrs old and 19 cm tall.   It's also a Ficus.  This species is easy to grow, very forgiving, and readily backbends if a mistake should happen.  If you look closely, you can see black, brown or white spots, very small, all over the trunk.   Those are the lentils I talk about.   Each little spot has the potential to develop into a leaf, then grow out to a branch, etc.   Lenticils are that part of a plants anatomy that helps it grow, develop, repair itself from storm damage.

     I am getting close now to being all caught up on  bonsai tree care.    
Oh my, What will I Blip when my trees are good?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.