Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Greenie

Very common in my garden, but not always easy to photograph owing to small size and flitty behavior - the Metallic Green Sweat Bee (genus Agapostemon).  They are about 1/4 inch long, are excellent pollinators and solitary nesters (meaning they aren't aggressive.)  They seem to have a special fondness for the native rudbeckia (black eyed susan) in my garden and can be found busily gathering pollen as soon as the flowers open.  


After a day of steady and at times heavy rain yesterday, today was mostly sunny and very humid.  One of those days where it is possible to work up a substantial sweat doing absolutely nothing.  Which is pretty much what I did.  I was up very early, which triggered a nap late morning. Then off t a local farm stand to pick up some tomatoes (where everyone was masked, thankfully!)


I read the news - big mistake.  Got myself all worked up and for what?  You can't fix stupid, can you?  


Hubs and his team mates took the race car to Pocono Raceway, about an hour from here, to test some recent repairs.  Unfortunately, the car is still overheating so back to the drawing board.  


My four tiny little monarch cats are happily munching away on their milkweed in their cozy little mansion on the deck.  I scoured the milkweed patch again this morning to see if I could find any more little ones, but came up empty.  I did see four silver-spotted skippers on my butterfly bush today, which was a nice surprise since I've seen to few butterflies at all this year.  A quick shot of one in Extra.


Stay safe, people .  Be kind.  Be loving.


xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.