Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

New Yard Bird!!

I looked out early this morning, after I had scattered a small handful of sunflower seeds - mostly to check and see if Ronda had appeared. And there right smack in front of the door practically was a bird I had never seen in my yard before! It's a Louisiana waterthrush. I first became aware of the existence of these birds when I started going to the birding festival in West Virginia - I've never seen one here. It makes perfect sense that there would BE one here, because there's a nice stream down behind our house, in the woods. These birds like fast running streams - so we probably have the perfect habitat for them. The breed all over the southeastern US - and well north as well as south of us. But what was really odd was this one appearing in the yard picking up sunflower seeds! Not the greatest photo - it was still pretty dim out - 6:25 AM, I think.

As always when I've seen something new to me, or fabulously wonderful, after just happening to glance out the window for no particular reason, I wonder how much I'm missing when I'm not looking!

Ronda did appear a little later - and she got her peanuts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.