ROW ROW ROW YOUR BOAT

Day 118 of my lockdown - Day 30 of slight ease


BACKBLIPPED - PHOTO TAKEN ON 11TH POSTED ON 12TH JULY


Apologies for the late entry but had a really busy day yesterday.

We had an EDPS Friendly photo competition, starting at 9.00 am and finishing about 9.00 pm.  Basically we were given 5 prompts to try and go out and photograph, or from home, throughout the day, then edit and download them by 5.30.  Winners announced at 8.30.  Emma, who is the person I've learnt a lot of my photography skills from held this competition for those of us wanting to compete who had completed the course and become members of the Camera Club.  There were about 60 entrants.  I achieved a 5th place for one of my entries and was rather pleased with that as there were some cracking entries.  However it was just for fun and also a learning curve.  

For me it was both fun and frustrating, but mostly fun.  

I decided to go to Esthwaite Water as it has always been quiet and would be great for some of the shots.  However it was not quiet.  Sadly I think news has got out about it, the car park was almost full.  There was one camper van that parked across 3 slots to secure a particular section of the lake for themselves, whilst allowing their dog to deficate by the lake!!??  Aaarrggghh.

I did manage a socially distanced walk around for about an hour or so but then left as it was getting busier.  I didn't dare do the Beatrix Potter walk that I like because some areas you wouldn't be able to socially distance pass anyone.  Still I can go back in the winter months.

Not busy compared to Bowness but busy enough, but I did take a couple of photos, which I ended up not using for the competition, so just took those ones from home. 

The other frustrating part was when I arrived there just before 10.00am (and it was nearly full then) the sun went in, clouds came over and it rained a little.  I then went on down to Lakeside, not quite so busy there and discovered that the Lakeside Hotel was opening its Terrace just for drinks and snacks between 1.00 and 7.00 during July.  They let me walk around the terrace to get some photos.  I've been to this hotel many times but never walked around the grounds before.  Not huge but quite pretty with some nice views.

I then came home and went around taking photos around the house, using black and white boards for some of them.  It did take me all day.  It was fun and having to check camera for composition, light, white balance etc.  

Hope you all had a good day and please do remember to stay safe.  I can't believe that people are still not using masks when they go inside.  Hubby went into the Pharmacy and Post Office yesterday and was the only one bothering to put on a face mask - aaaarrrghhhh - it's not a big thing to ask.  Oh well still staying in a slightly eased lockdown ourselves for some time to come.

Thank you so much for continuing to listen to my rambles.  Stay safe and see you all tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.