175 YEARS OF CUMBRIAN RAILWAY

First of all many apologies but this photo was taken last night but as I had already submitted an entry I really wanted to share this photo with you I'm quite pleased that I got the plaque quite sharp - and I didn't take it out of the camera until today.   I never normally do this but, for some of you it's all about the football, for me steam trains has much the same effect - being bought up travelling the country to visit steam trains has an effect.on you.  Of course there was nowhere near as many of these when I was growing up as there are now but then when we lived on Anglesey steam was still a regular service on the railways in the 1960s.

A busy day just doing housework and getting prepared for the window fitters, will finish on the rest of it tomorrow as I really wanted to edit these photos today.

I've put together a collage of some of the shots I took.  Of course you never have time to adjust anytime, but from the first toot toot to the whooshing past it was exciting.

There were quite a few people on the station, although not crowded.  By the looks of things I should have opped over to Silverdale station, few people there.  

For those that like to know thse things, this is the 21C146 Braunton and is a Southern Railway West Country class 4-6-2 Pacific steam locomotive that has been preserved.  


Saphos Trains gave permission to use the headboard from their steam train celebrating '175 Years of Cumbrian Railways'. The train tour yesterday travelled from Crewe along the Settle railway to Carlisle and then returned down the Cumbrian Coast line and the Furness Line on its return journey. It looked spectacular as it roared through Kents Bank Station.


Many thaks for dropping by and for all your stars, hearts and comments, all greatly appreciated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.