Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Perfect weather

We had such a bad night with Xena last night, she would not settle. I think the house was too cold and when the boys came downstairs very late at night to get something to eat from the kitchen, being an old Victorian house the stairs were creaking and made such a noise. She howled and whined and barked - Adam sat with her trying to settle her and then I took over and finally got to sleep at 3.30am. I was not impressed! So no sleep and a sore toe meant I was not feeling my best today. 

This morning was a beautiful day, absolutely perfect weather with blue skies and not a breath of wind. The first thing I did was contact the landlady to request that she comes and turns the heating on as at night this house is very cold. Gavin who always over heats even found he could not sleep properly as the house was too cold. It's a charming big old Victorian house and not really built for efficient heating. 

After breakfast Luke Gavin and I set off to walk to town along the coastal path - its not far from town at all and we walked right across the town, admiring the stunning blue sea and scenery - see extras of the town. We walked to the end of the harbour wall where we saw Verity, a large statue donated by Damien Hirst who lives nearby. She is my blip today, although I took so many photos I really could not decide.

When we got back to the house the boys and I went to the Tesco superstore to get groceries for the week. Oh my goodness, a big mistake shopping with all three of them just before lunch time when they were all hungry - the trolley filled up and we ended up with two trolleys. The lady at the checkout was laughing when I told her we are only here for a week, but she understood as she also has teenage boys.

After lunch we drove to Woollacombe as it has a wonderful long beach that is dog friendly. I have added an extra of it - it is a beautiful beach, endless white sand and it was not too busy. We found parking easily and although it looks like there are lots of people on the beach they were sitting in their family groups well away from each other. The foreground part of the beach is just for swimmers and no dogs, but over the creek dogs are allowed so Xena could run free. The boys all swam and did some body surfing and tried to get her to go swim with them but she was not at all keen, she still is not interested in swimming. It is a pretty village and one of the best beaches I have ever seen in England. 

Tomorrow it looks like the weather is changing - we will still go out and explore other coastal villages. I hope Xena settles tonight and we all get a good night's sleep in a warmer house!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.