Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A walk from Ilfracombe to Hele Bay

Last night we all slept much better, the house was warmer and Xena slept right through until 8.30am as she usually does - thank goodness as I was feeling very tired from the lack of sleep from the night before. Gavin and Luke went for a morning run up the coastal path and came home and declared it was a very difficult run, extremely steep to walk let alone run. 

The forecast today was for rain from about midday so after being given the idea by Sue, a blipper who lives nearby, we decided to walk from the house to Hele Bay. It was a wonderful walk through the harbour and up and over Hillsborough before descending into Hele Bay. I am sure my toe is broken, it is a nasty purple/magenta colour and pretty painful. Thankfully I can walk on flat surfaces but descending is painful as my toe pushes forward in my shoes, so the walk down to Hele Bay was not that easy. 

This image is the view of Ilfracombe from above the town - it reminded me of walking the Cinque Terre in Italy. The extra is of the algae covered rocks in Hele Bay and also an image of the working harbour at Ilfracombe. 

There was nothing to do at Hele Bay as the cafe was closed, so we walked back again. It started raining lightly but it did not last that long. We met a handsome male Viszla on the walk and Xena and he played for a while. We decided to have lunch at home again, as there are not that many cafes open and we feel more comfortable eating at home. After lunch it started raining heavily and rained all afternoon, so we cancelled our plans to go to Clovelly and stayed home. I caught up with editing photos, the boys read and are now doing gym in the sitting room with some weights and bands that they brought with them. Xena is sitting almost on top of me as I edit my photos, she is such a velcro dog it is rather funny. Why sit near you when she can sit on top of you?!

Tomorrow the boys are playing golf - not Tommy, as his girlfriend Inca arrives tonight and he felt it was not fair to go off and play golf on her first day here. After recovering well something has triggered Adam's back again and he is in too much pain to play golf, so he may only walk around with them as walking helps his back. I am meeting up with two blippers! 

And in other news I booked a photo trip to the Outer Hebrides for March 2021! Hope life is back to normal by then....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.