Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Little fungi

Other than my morning walk in the woods with Xena, I have been stuck at my desk all day doing admin. It was something that needed to get done but as a result I have done nothing else all day. I did plan to catch up with Blip but that did not happen, the ironing is waiting for me, I never got to do other errands and now I have to go cook supper.

I have also been worried all day about my family in South Africa - it hasn't been in our news much but there are horrific riots going on in SA which all started because the ex president Zuma has finally been arrested for his crimes and sent to jail. The looting and violence is extreme, and everyone has been ordered to stay at home - my sister has been unable to go to work this week, they are burning cars and attacking civilians. There is the smell of burning in the streets, gunshots going off and explosions that rattle the windows. The police have been hopeless in their ability to control the violence or protect the people, so private security firms and members of communities are trying to protect their own neighbourhoods. They are now worried about food shortages as the shops have been looted and they cannot go out to buy food. It is my sister's birthday in two day's time and I ordered flowers to be sent to her, I have just received notification that they cannot deliver flowers due to the unrest, quite understandably so. I hope it calms down before more people are killed and hopefully the army can get control of the situation. Added to this the Covid situation is very bad at the moment, the hospitals are not coping due to the increase in infections due to the Delta variant and with  a largely unvaccinated population it is a devastating situation. My sister is due to have her second Pfizer vaccine next week but now due to the unrest does not know if she can get it. Thankfully my brother had his second jab yesterday.

We have been so looking forward to going to Devon at the end of this week - I booked it months ago before we knew we would be able to go due to Covid restrictions, and we were looking forward to everyone being together for a while. But now Luke is unable to come, Meriel cannot come as she cannot get leave, and Inca is busy doing veterinary practical work - I feel sad that it won't include everyone. They all need a holiday - working during the pandemic has resulted in working much longer hours than usual and holidays are now more important than ever. 

Our lawn is covered with little fungi so I thought this would work for Tiny Tuesday - this one made me smile with the way it has a kink in the stem.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.