Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Sunshine and clouds

I had a busy morning, after walking Xena for an hour I went to the dentist for a check up followed by a session with the hygienist. I then had to get dog food from the pet store at the garden centre, I ignored all the beautiful plants there that were winking at me saying 'please buy me' and got home for a late lunch.

It has been a warm and sunny day with clouds. I drive past this scene so often and I know I often blip this view but it features again today as I had no time to photograph anything else today.

The situation in Durban, South Africa, where my family live is worrying as the criminals who are rioting and looting all the shops have now looted and emptied the biggest food distribution centre which serves all the supermarkets so there is no food. The shopping malls are all closed but the few supermarkets that are not in malls are open. My sister stood in a queue to buy food from 7.45am and finally got inside at 3.30pm - she had no food or drink all day while queuing. There was very little food left but she managed to get a few things - no meat, milk, or bread available. There is no baby formula or nappies either, so my niece, her husband and baby are evacuating to Cape Town for a while, they finally managed to get flights there as they have been terrified with the violence so close to home. It is such a crisis and what often happens in times like this is the sense of community spirit, the community members who are safeguarding the streets and helping to protect civilians as the police and army have been unable to do so.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.