Cirencester Rooftops

Today was one of those days when I had enough pictures for a month worth of blips! So hard to choose. Cirencester has so many beautiful things to take pictures of! I love the variety of architecture. Most of the town is made up of yellow Cotswold limestone but these colourful buildings are found along Market Place, just next to the Abbey.

After all the rain yesterday it was dry most of the day today,although not sunny. I walked into town from the campsite through Cirencester Park (the Earl of Bathhurst’s Estate). See first Extra photo.

I mostly just wandered around, enjoying looking at flowers, beautiful buildings and homes, looping along the riverside walk and back towards the Abbey. See second Extra photo. I passed by the Hospital of St John (bottom left) - not a hospital in the modern sense, but a place to care for the weary traveller and the poor. Built In the 12th century the remaining building with the arches is the chantry and was an annexe of the hospital.

I walked by the Abbey but didn’t go in this time. I ate lunch outside in a courtyard area, and went into a few shops. I felt safe because it wasn’t very busy and everyone was being very sensible. I wear a mask in shops and the smaller shops were only allowing 2-3 people inside and some boutiques were working on an appointment system.

The hares are an icon of Cirencester after a Roman hare mosaic was found under the town, now displayed in the Corinium Museum. These large brightly painted hares were part of the ‘March of Hares’ festival which took place a few years ago. All the hares were then auctioned off and a few can be seen around town.

I walked back to the campsite and enjoyed sitting outside with a cup of tea just before the rain started again. Thursday night is pizza night at this campsite. This couple take their mobile wood fired pizza oven to 4 different campsites in the Cotswolds. I should become a groupie and do a Cotswold camping/pizza tour! I usually eat my meals outside but the rain meant I had another cosy evening inside my van - pizza, salad, raindrops on the roof, and Call The Midwife on my iPad.

The fourth extra was actually almost my main blip today. I love this sign on the wall of a pub. I think this dog is saying: “Actually, if you don’t mind - I think I WOULD prefer a beer to a bowl of water this time!”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.